Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Touchable Buddhism

I'm very new to Buddhism (even tough a lot of my beliefs have tied in for a long time but that's another story) and this may sound very silly.

Anyway, I'd like to carry something physical with me 24/7 just as a reminder until I can get around to establishing a psychological one. Does anybody have any suggestions?

Comments

• A picture of HHDL?
    A mala 'rosary'
  • cazcaz Veteran United Kingdom Veteran
    A picture of Buddha and a Mala :-)
  • I use to have mala when I first got into Buddhism and then realised I was attached the look of it more than anything else. I ended up in total with some like 10 or so things on my left wrist, festival bands, mala, random bracelets etc. As long as you see it for what it represents and not an identity thing it's all good.

One thing that did help me was to note how everything is impernanent and out of my control during the first year or two. So maybe if you have a picture of say the Buddha or Dalai Lama, maybe you could write on the back something like "This is just how things are" or something similar. That means when you get let down by someone, when your phone gets stolen or a relationship ends you can flip the picture over and remember, that is just the way things are right now.
  • edited September 2012
    Can you wear jewelry? I wear a necklace. There are so many Buddhist symbols (conch shell, umbrella, dharma wheel, lotus, knot, etc.) Do a search on the 8 symbols and see which you like. If you search on Buddhist jewelry there are a few companies that specialize in this.