Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Meditation for Blood Pressure Readings?

edited December 2012 in Meditation
Hi everyone. This is my very first post. I'm new to meditation and have been following some of Deepak Chopra's advice. Doing very simple meditations and focusing on the breath. I will say "So" on inhale and "hum" on exhale. Or "I" and "Am".

I really want to beat my white coat syndrome. That is when your blood pressure goes up in a clinical setting. It doesn't do it every time, but often it does. What kind of meditation would be suitable for this? And should I picture myself having my BP taken at the doctor's office while meditating?

BTW, there is nothing wrong with my BP. It's perfectly fine at home and even when I check it at pharmacy areas of stores like Walgreen's and Rite-Aid. But my doctor is still concerned over it. It was 135/83 last visit and he started to talk about beta-blockers. That in itself raises my anxiety when he starts talking about that. Normally my BP is 107/65 at home. At pharmacies around 118/70.

So any kind of meditation practice that is suitable for anxiety-producing situations would be ideal. I would greatly appreciate any advice given.

Comments

• vinlynvinlyn Colorado...for now Veteran
    I can sometimes relax my blood pressure or my mild tachycardia but focusing on the phrase, "To the Buddha I go for refuge, to the Dhamma I go for refuge, to the Sangha I go for refuuge."