Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Occasions of "sin"

SimonthepilgrimSimonthepilgrim Veteran
edited November 2006 in Buddhism Today
In Christian moral theology, there is the notion of the "occasions of sin": these are events, places, people, readings, etc., which are likely to lead one into 'sin'. I wonder if there is a Pali/Sankrit Buddhist term for the same idea. I have found it very useful in the past - and also this very day:

For some years now, I have been a moderator and administrator on a friend's bulletin board. I have even carried on under a new 'owner' when my friend left to join the Navy. At one time, it was a very active board with many interesting discussions and debates. From time to time, we would have a 'flamer' or someone who would be deliberately unpleasant - just as we have had here. For a few months now, my friend's boards have been getting slower and slower. Like all such, it has probably come to the end of its useful life, having no real underlying ethos. The three or four of us who still post have been wondering about it and have been accused of not joining in with other members' sites. As a result, I went to one.