Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Buddhism in Birmingham, UK

Hi

I'm seeking the opinions of anyone that has been to or researched any buddhist centres in Birmingham. I have been practising buddism for almost 2 years, but it is very much a private thing and although I don't hide it if anyones enquires, I don't mention the subject unless asked. I've realised the reason I think I haven't been to any centres is because I have my own idea of what buddhism is and how I feel connected to it (from reading/listening to audioboks, looking on the net) and slighty worried that by going to a centre and learning more it may change my 'perception'. This is crazy as part of my practice is supposed to be about not being attached lol, so I've decided to give it a try but would like some advice from anyone about the following centres faily local to me:
FWBO
Dechen Sakya Buddhism
Diamond Way
New Kadampa

I'm leaning towards the first one the most. I also actualy like the sound of the New Kapampa also, but worried about all the cult warning I've read about and the alleged grudge with the Dalai Lama, although all the news on that seems to be at least a few years old.

Any help would be lovely. Thanks in advance :-)

Comments

• BrigidBrigid Veteran
    edited November 2006
    Hi, Spaceman.

I'm extremely wary of New Kadampa myself after I did some research on it. I've put it on my "Absolutely not" list. But that's all I know about your list.