Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Buddhists and the military

I am new to Buddhism and am having some difficulty in dealing with an issue. I was recently recalled to Active Duty with the US Army. I am a medic currently stationed at Ft. Benning, Georgia.

Here is my dilemma. I want to do the right thing, but I am also a soldier. Can I be both a soldier AND a Buddhist? I am classified as a non-combatant, but I am still required to carry and fire a weapon. Can I do that and not conflict with the teachings of Buddhism? Are there any stipulations about using a weapon only in self-defense? I do not want to shoot anyone. I am a compassionate and caring person and would rather help someone than hurt them. It's just very confusing.

I began exploring Buddhism in 2003 while stationed in Iraq during the first months of this current bloodbath. I left the military when my time expired and then they decided they needed Medics again, so here I am.

I have looked at this forum and it appears that there are many good people with good advice. I would appreciate any opinions on this matter. It has weighed heavily on my heart and mind.

Thank you!

Comments

• XraymanXrayman Veteran
    edited April 2007
    cheres woody,

there is more than a smattering of ex-military members here.

as far as I can tell-(see Palzang about this), a medic is a far more ethical and "low down on the karma list" than a bloodthirsty soldier, by far. If you ned to carry a weapon for defence sake I'd say you are fine.

cheers,
    xrayman
  • PalzangPalzang Veteran
    edited April 2007