Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Speaking and Not Speaking

misecmisc1misecmisc1 I am a HinduIndia Veteran
edited May 2018 in General Banter

Hi All,
I was reading the Layman Pang's pdf file at https://terebess.hu/zen/mesterek/JamesGreen-LaymanP'ang.pdf
In that below dialogue is mentioned:

20. Speaking and Not Speaking
One day Pai-ling asked the Layman, “Both speaking about it and not speaking about it are unavoidable. So can you tell me simply, how do you not avoid speaking about it?” The Layman winked at him. Pai-ling said, “Nothing could be more sublime than that.” The Layman said, “So the teacher is someone who gives false compliments, is he?” Pai-ling said, “Who doesn’t? Who doesn’t?” The Layman bowed and left.