Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

A Question about Rebirth

edited November 2007 in Buddhism Basics
Hello everyone.

I'm new to Buddhism, and considering where I live, I really don't have a place to go and ask this simple, yet confusing, question.

Does the cycle of rebirth continue until one reaches enlightenment?

I know this seems like a simple question, but it has me confused because it goes against everything I was "taught" as a kid. I grew up in a Christian home, and I was taught that there was "one way" to salvation.

I'm sorry if this has been asked several times before, I still haven't learned my way around this community very well. Thanks for ya'lls time.

Lost Student

Comments

• edited November 2007
    A simple question ??? :eek2:

A cool book toread is "The Compass Of Zen" by Zen master Seung Sahn.

Most christians I talk to are waiting for the next life .. some buddhist too it seems after each life they will have a rebirth and come closer to enlightment ... although there is another understanding that every momement in life we are changing .. we are a new person .. so every momement we are experiencing rebirth and at each rebirth a chance to experience or attain enlightment. In this understanding there is no past or future just the NOW. "Death" is of no consequence.

Cheers ..
  • PalzangPalzang Veteran
    edited November 2007
    Hi Lost,

The subjects of rebirth and karma are the two things that throw most new students of Buddhism because they seem like very foreign ideas to us. But really they're not so foreign if you think about it.