Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

water offering

edited December 2007 in Buddhism Basics
Hi,

I'm relatively new to Buddhist. I'm practicing Soto Zen.

Can anyone explain to me why a candle, flowers, incense and water are offered on a home altar?

I understand that when we bow to the Buddha image, we are actually bowing to the Buddha within ourselves. So, I assume we're not offering these items TO Siddharta Gautama as if he were a god, since he's not.

Do the items have a symbolic meaning that we're supposed to remember when offering them? How does one actually make the offering, ie. do we make bows before or after, is there a verse to be said at the time off the offering, etc.? I understand that sometimes food is also put on the altar. What is the purpose? I understand that the offerings differ among the different schools.

I'd appreciate any help ya'll can offer!

Chris

Comments

• PalzangPalzang Veteran
    edited December 2007
    It's very similar to what we Tibetan Buddhists offer on our altars. We offer water for bathing, water for drinking, incense, flowers, light, scents, food, and music. These are the traditional offerings given to someone visiting one's home as a sign of hospitality, so what we are doing is making an offering of hospitality to the Buddha, who, as you said, is none other than our own true nature.

Palzang
  • BrigidBrigid Veteran
    edited December 2007
    Hi, Chris. Welcome to NewBudhist. It's nice to meet you!

Lovely post, Palzang.
  • MagwangMagwang Veteran
    edited December 2007
    Palzang wrote: »