Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Karma and reincarnation?

edited April 2009 in Buddhism Basics
Hi.

I am very new to buddhism, so please don't laugh if my understanding is way off. That's why I have come here, because I am confused on a few things.

From my understanding the teachings of Buddha are rational and scientific trans-theistic. They are not superstitions, but more like a teaching in psychology.

As far as I know most people believe karma is; your experience in life being determined by the morality of your decisions. If you cause a certain amount of suffering in the world, you will ultimately experience the same amount of suffering.

But I was told Buddha never actually said this. Is this just a superstition which has been adapted by some followers?

I was told karma is more like a principle, like gravity for instance.

For example:
the karma of stealing would be:
1. the fact that you stole money reflects greed, which will result in material desire that's not satiated, which will lead to unhappiness
2. you don't learn the value of money, because it comes easily, which means that you'll be more inclined to have money problems in the future.
3. paranoid of getting caught, which will affect your quality of life.
4. you potentially getting caught, which will affect your job prospects, which will in turn affect your future job and income.