Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Hi, a newbie and a question about visiting a Buddhist temple

edited May 2009 in Buddhism Basics
Namaste everyone !
I didnt see an intro forum so i hope its ok that i post this here.

About me...

Im actually a new hare krishna devotee... I was raised christian and converted to judaism then hinduism after experimenting with differant beliefs along the way.

I first got interested in Buddhism when i studied martial arts, theres a lot that I like about it, and its where i learned to first chant mantras on beads and meditate... I never formally became a Buddhist mainly because i couldnt get my head around a world without God, but i have a lot of respect for Buddhism and the lessons it taught me , which has recently been renewed since I became involved in Hinduism ..

In Hinduism I learned that Buddha was a great Sidhu, or teacher and i respect him as being someone incredibly advanced spiritually...

I also like the way that Hinduism and Buddhism are so close in terms of language and belief and practice..

Im visiting a ( Japanese - shinto - i think ) Buddhist center soon and so here are my questions..

1 ) Is it ok for me to pay my respects / obeisances to Buddha in a temple the same way i would in a Hindu temple. By bowing and / or doing Namaste ?? will i offend any of the monks or nuns by doing this ?

are there any other things i should know - besides the obvious of dressing modestly etc ?

Will Buddhists mind that im bowing to Buddha etc even though im not a Buddhist ?