Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Hello everyone im new to Buddhism

and i would like to start what can you tell me about Kadampa Buddhism there is a center where i live would this be appropriate for me? :confused:

Thank you.

Comments

• edited June 2009
    Hi jupitermadcat,
    It's worth getting acquainted with the controversy surrounding the NKT before getting involved with them. I'm not saying you shouldn't, as I gained many valuable teachings during my time with them, merely that you are not ignorant of the issues surrounding them.

Many Tibetan Buddhists condemn them outright, as the Dali Lama has taken issue with them regarding their continuation of a protector practice called 'Dorje Shugden' but I tend to take a more pragmatic view.

Just get informed and then you will be in a position to make decisions and choices for yourself .

Google up "NKT controversy" for a wealth of information.

Namaste
  • edited June 2009
    Ahh ok sounds like any other disagrement in a religion lol but for myself who is a Christian also who happens to love Buddhism would this be a good starting point? i mean i love and respect the Dalai Lama but sometimes it gets a little too political for me.

Well Christian in a sense that i that i think Jesus was Buddha like and think ALL paths lead somewhere good.
  • edited June 2009
    Ahh ok sounds like any other disagrement in a religion lol but for myself who is a Christian also who happens to love Buddhism would this be a good starting point?
    Hi jupitermadcat,