Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

edited July 2009 in Buddhism Basics
Hello everyone :D

My name is Stephen (if you didn't already know :p) and I have just started Zen Buddhism.

I bought a book called "Zen Mind, Beginner's Mind" by Shunryu Suzuki and find it is very good (though I little hard to understand).

I have begun meditating in the lotus position and still find it hard to get into the exact position. I can't put my legs on top of one another, I just sit normally, is that ok?

Thank you

Stephen

Comments

• edited July 2009
    Hello Stephen, and welcome! I'm from the UK too.

I'm not a Zen practitioner, I'm a student of Tibetan Buddhism, so I may not be giving you the same kind of answer as a Zen student.

There are different ways to sit when meditating, but there's not much point in sitting in a position which will cause a lot of pain and discomfort. It's also OK to meditate in a straight -backed chair if one has physical problems, but one should try to keep the spine straight if possible.

Kind wishes,

Dazzle
  • gracklegrackle Veteran
    edited July 2009
    Stephen,
    You certainly made a good choice in terms of your reading. There is no standard position for meditation. I continue to prefer the full lotus.but now being a lot older limit it to 90 minutes.

grackle
  • edited July 2009
    so many people get caught up in the formalities of process that they never complete the process. If you look at a brain scan after meditation I think you will find the sitting position has little to do with it.
  • LesCLesC Bermuda Veteran
    edited July 2009