Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

New Member/Intro & question

edited October 2009 in Buddhism Basics
I found your forum a couple of days ago. I did some lurking & reading of past posts for a while. I must say I like the way you ALL interact with those of us that are new & searching for answers to some of the things we don't quite understand yet. I found a more Welcoming & Warm feeling here. For that I say Thank You.
Like a lot of you I don't have any friends or places around me that are like minded. Since I started studying Buddhism I was seeing everything so different from everyone else. Like my eyes just all the sudden opened up!!! Buddhism just made sense. And I did apply it to my life daily. Some how I'm able to handle some of my life's troubles better...Sorry...Ranting a bit...
Now for my question:: Your Thought or View...
Buddhism teaches us to be compassionate and to help others in need. BUT!!! What dose Buddhism say when the person or persons you are trying to help WILL NOT help themselves. They just keep doing the same things that got them where their at over & over again. Now wanting you to do everything for them. Where do you draw the line? (can you tell I'm having a little problem with this..lol..) Kind of feeling like it's pulling off my path a little bit.

Any thought or view would be great.. Thanks

Comments

• JasonJason God Emperor Arrakis Moderator
    edited October 2009
    Rider wrote: »
    Buddhism teaches us to be compassionate and to help others in need. BUT!!! What dose Buddhism say when the person or persons you are trying to help WILL NOT help themselves.