Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Unknown Path for right now.

edited October 2009 in Buddhism Basics
How is everyone doing today, I am new to the whole Buddhism thing and I am really confused which path to go with, because I am the type of person that hunts deer to eat and sport but I do not let the meat go to waste, also I like to go out with my friends and drink at bars or my friends houses, I also love women and having sex. I have read a lot of different articles on the internet and not one of them is the same in text so I would like to know which is best for me. I have heard from different people that mahayana is more for a family life and thereavada is for monks, and also varajyana is a lot harder to do. I really do feel that Buddhism is right for me, but unsure which it should be. If anyone knows of websites or books for me to read please let me know.

Comments

• RenGalskapRenGalskap Veteran
    edited October 2009
    newtome wrote: »
    I have heard from different people that mahayana is more for a family life and thereavada is for monks...
    Where do all those Theravada babies come from? What are those monks doing? {puzzled}

Seriously, anytime someone told me that type X Buddhism is for type Z people, I would take it with a grain of salt.

Lots of people start off with one kind of Buddhism and later switch. It's not an irrevocable commitment. Pick something that looks good and try it out for a couple of years.
  • federicafederica Seeker of the clear blue sky... Its better to remain silent and be thought a fool, than to speak out and remove all doubt Moderator
    edited October 2009