Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Looking to Learn

edited October 2009 in Buddhism Basics
So, I'm a bit new to all this, please forgive me everyone. I suppose I should start with a bit about me...

I was born and raised in America, my family is Cathloic and raised me that way. Around 14 I began to question my religion and faith, and realized that I didn't have any in Catholisim, so I stopped attending church. Since then I've been an Athiest/Agnostic, I believe there is some higher power unifying us all to each other, the earth, and the universe. If you wish to call this "God" then perhaps I'm an Agnostic, but I don't think it's some bearded man judging people in the sky.

Currently, I am living in Japan. I've taken many trips, sight-seeing, traveling, and so on. I've come across many Buddhist temples and have sat for many hours thinking about, well, nothing. Like those times where you check the clock, then check it again in what feels like a few minutes but two hours have passed and you don't know what you were thinking about or doing. The temples just, felt good to me, it's hard to explain and I likely sound silly.

Since then I've been reading a lot on Buddhism, but the problem is I don't know where to start. I know there are plenty of Temples in Japan, and if Buddhist monks are like any other people of faith I know they are likely willing to teach me... But my Japanese isn't good enough to have a deep discussion on faith and religion and practice.