Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

How to start a sangha? Any ideas?

edited November 2009 in General Banter
I'm trying to start a Dharma group/Sangha in my town. I started a group on meetup.com. We have had one meet up so far and have another one in two weeks. Basically I have no idea what I'm doing. I don't know where this group will go, or what it is all about. A few of the other members gave the impression that I should be the leader of the group or something. I feel very uncomfortable with that because I consider myself I beginner as far as Buddhism goes. I have been studying Buddhism on my own for 7 years, have never had a teacher, and the only temples I've ever been in were while I was on vacation in Japan. Another problem is it seems like all the members are from different Buddhist traditions. I respect all Buddhist traditions, but I just think it may be difficult with different backgrounds, and ideas. Basically I want this group to work out, be a place for the Dharma to be introduced to my area.

Any ideas or suggestions?

Comments

• federicafederica Seeker of the clear blue sky... Its better to remain silent and be thought a fool, than to speak out and remove all doubt Moderator
    edited October 2009
    It reminds me of the poem....
    I wanna be the leader
    I wanna be the leader
    Can I be the leader?
    Can I? I can?
    Promise? Promise?
    Yippee I'm the leader
    I'm the leader

OK what shall we do?

Roger McGough

Well, basically you need to formulate a plan, that is, what your objectives are, and why.