Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

beginner in trouble

edited November 2009 in Buddhism Basics
Hi there,

I am really new to Buddhism and I just recently took refuge.

My motivation was that after a tough period in work I rearranged my priorities and changed my way of life. This all happened in March '09. After re-arranging I found out I can be happier, better person, but the thing I cannot deal with is my big ego. So this is why I contacted a local Buddhist center just a month and a half ago.

The person there was a very nice man who recommended couple of great books every beginner should start with, like the life of Milarepa, Story of Guru Rinpoche, Cutting Through Spiritual Materialism, Blazing Splendor. While finishing the last one I had the great chance to take refuge with a great Master. Undoubtedly, this all i owe to the man at my local Buddhist center, who is practicing for more than 15 years now and is obviously very hard working for making it possible to follow Dharma here in a fully traditional Tibetan Buddhism way.

The thing is that after the first gathering with the group at this center, this nice man suddenly changed to me and became really hard on my weaknesses and especially on all my big-ego-related faults. I received a lot of criticism, but all of it was fully deserved by me. I think I totally lost his trust already - again I fully deserved it.