Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

How do I experience what I read in a book?

SimplifySimplify Veteran
edited November 2009 in Buddhism Basics
I am new to this. Specifically I am reading the book : Shambhala: The Sacred Path of the Warrior. Also I have started meditating for 20 minutes a day, and with a shambalah group twice a week.

Intellectually I understand that fear causes ignorance and strife. I have even directly observed this, and can recall the memory.

Trungpa talks about gentleness, softness and sadness as a way to go beyond fear. That at the root of fear is sadness, and that if you can experience this, you can be tender and gentle instead of fearful. I have not clearly experienced this, but perhaps slightly.

Say I want to explore this more - do I then examine what makes me afraid, seek that out (something safe - not jumping off bridges or anything), and then carefully observe? What about just imagining a scary situation, and observing my response?

And then the reaction - do I purposefully seek to experience that gentle tender brave sadness, or do I just observe fear and see what I find?

Or am I thinking about this in a totally wrong way?

Any thoughts are appreciated.

Comments

• fivebellsfivebells Veteran
    edited November 2009
    Simplify wrote: »
    Say I want to explore this more - do I then examine what makes me afraid, seek that out (something safe - not jumping off bridges or anything), and then carefully observe? What about just imagining a scary situation, and observing my response?