Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

When you see violence on the street

edited November 2009 in Buddhism Basics
Dear people of this forum,

Since a few months I am studying the teachings of the Buddha and try to apply them to my own life and thinking. Unfortunately I have no teacher, but I learn a lot from books and from translation of Suttas and other Pali texts.

Yesterday I was walking through the city where I live and a drunk man was beating his girlfriend in the middle of a busy street during the afternoon. Surprisingly everybody ignored them even though the woman was crying and screaming him to stop hurting her.

Even though I too would rather not be involved in violence, I felt that this woman needed help and that I was capable to help her.

I walked towards them and pulled the guy off of the woman and stood in between them in front of the woman, horizontally stretching my arms to defend the woman. Then I told him he could not touch this woman again.

He started threatening me and warned me that if I wouldn't move that he would beat me to dead. I refused to move and continued to stand in front of the woman telling him that he could not touch this woman again.

Then he punched me in my face, and my eyebrow started bleeding and blood came in my eye so I could not see for 10 seconds. When I had regained my vision again, the man had run away leaving the woman behind.