Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Study, study, study

NamelessRiverNamelessRiver Veteran
edited December 2009 in General Banter
OK I am currently in a situation that bothers me a lot. I graduated from law school and I am unemployed for over an year, the thing is, law firms here pay crap (as in not enough to live decently and really not enough to compensate the trouble of going through law school, they would pay around 6k dollars an year "hello-o??" :mad:), and don't have much of an opportunity of advancement. There is free law procedures or free consultation for most of the litigation procedures here, except for big cases from companies that want, well, BIG law firms.

The leftover solution, that has been the only solution for over 90 % of the people that graduate here, are jobs in the government. They pay reasonably well (the best ones, for being a judge or a prosecutor for example, pay around, 120-130kish and the crappier ones for law, half that amount, or 10 times what a starting lawyer gets privately) the problem is, they demand something I don't know if I can give :(. They have tests for it that are way WAY harder than a BAR examination (WAY WAAAAAAAY harder, as in if a thousand people pass the BAR only 1 gets into this kind of job).

People MOB these jobs: professors, experienced lawyers, people that are in the government already, etc. I don't feel like I have any other choice, but I am like "no way man, I can't do this, this is not happening to me". I need to go over EVERYTHING I learned in law school (legislation and court decisions are aways changing) plus many more subjects I am clueless about.