Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Re-birth as a metaphor?

edited March 2010 in Philosophy
I was talking to my friend recently who isn't Buddhist, yet is trying to understand the thoughts and ideals, and the topic of re-birth came up. Now, I'm not a horribly experienced Buddhist seeing as how I just started practicing about two years ago, but I explained what I knew to the best of my knowledge, and left the rest open to speculation and debate, as good things often come from that :lol: At one point she brought up the question of whether I thought that re-birth could perhaps be a metaphor and I asked her to expound upon the theory. She explained that she thought that perhaps re-birth referred to a re-birth of your mind rather than your karma. Your mind, she quipped, is constantly changing perspectives based on what you experience in your life. You go to work and your perspectives change, someone dies and your perspectives change, even small events such as reading a book change you perspectives. Was re-birth perhaps a metaphor to further understand why you never truly view the world the same from one second to the next?

Comments

• federicafederica Seeker of the clear blue sky... Its better to remain silent and be thought a fool, than to speak out and remove all doubt Moderator
    edited December 2009
    Absolutely.

And
    maybe not.

It's possible, because we're never the same from one day to the next, mentally OR physically......
  • ValtielValtiel Veteran
    edited December 2009
    Welcome to the forum :)