Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

zen monasteries in the USA?

edited April 2010 in Philosophy
Does anyone know if there are any Zen monasteries in the USA that will let people come and stay at them to learn, experience the monastic life and such that do not charge money, but instead expect you to work or something like that? I would really like to do such a thing after this semester of college but am finding nothing.

I have some experience in the Theravada tradition, but the "popular" manifestation of that put me off - since the Theravadans made it pretty clear they thought of the Buddha like a god, whether that was really Theravada or not (which I know, it is not, but I'd rather not argue with people that assume because of their ethnicity they're already experts), and I am really now finding the Japanese traditions more fitting for me now that I have started appreciating Buddhism again.

peace!

Comments

• LincLinc Site owner Detroit Moderator
    edited January 2010
    There's a small one not far from my house; some of them work in the temple, and a couple laypeople live there. I don't know what they're arrangements are; one is studying to ordain, the other simply living there for the time being.

The short answer is yes, you just need to seek them out :)
  • ph0kinph0kin http://klingonbuddhist.wordpress.com Explorer
    edited February 2010
    Jase wrote: »