Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Disturbed sleep after meditation anyone?

ToshTosh Veteran
edited March 2010 in Meditation
I've been meditating for about 6 or 7 months now, and although I know I shouldn't judge my meditation, it's difficult not to.

Anyway, last night I meditated just prior to going to bed; the meditation felt (it's tough to describe) deeper, less chatter going on in my head, almost touching blissful and everything was great.

However, once in bed I couldn't sleep, I eventually got up to read, then much later went back to bed and slept and had a crazy dream which I still remember, and I either don't usually dream, or I don't remember if I do; and I never usually have any problems with sleep.

Now it wouldn't bother me if it did, but I'm just wondering if meditation can affect your sleep?

Comments

• DeshyDeshy Veteran
    edited January 2010
    I have never reached blissful levels in meditation to give you a personal experience on this but it's there in my meditation handbook that the monk could not sleep for weeks after he came out of jhana experiences. They are such peak levels of mindfulness that when you get out of them you are so energized, refreshed and awake. It seems that the body doesn't need sleep
  • jinzangjinzang Veteran
    edited January 2010
    The sense of excitement over having achieved something certainly can.
  • edited January 2010
    Tosh,

Very often just before an insight (or even a breakthrough) of some kind, there would be an energy build up, and it would disturb my sleep along with giving me erratic dreaming.