Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Theravada & Mahayana Buddhism - Big Difference ?

edited April 2010 in Buddhism Basics
I've been practicing Buddhism for a good 2 months now, but have postponed my deep readings momentarily, as my studies are too taxing right now.

Someone asked me though, what type of Buddhist I was... and I actually did not even know!?

Just to be practical I've started with the 8-fold path, but have no idea which will be best for me: Theravada or Mahayana ?

I believe Mahayana is associated with Tibet & the Dalai Lama, so I'm inclined to believe that that would be the most suitable for me.

Do I have to choose at some point? What's the "real" big difference?

THANX!

Comments

• NiosNios Veteran
    edited February 2010
    Hi Hank

"Do I have to choose at some point?" My personal opinion is to take your time. You only started 2months ago, some people take between 5-40 years to find the path they prefer. Some people benefit from following only one school as it causes less confusion for them. Others prefer to mix and match. At the end of the day, it's your choice.
    "What's the "real" big difference?"
    Some say none, or that the differences are superficial, but for clarities sake...;
    Therevada is based on the Pali cannon which are the oldest buddhist texts. Someone from the therevada might be able to fill in on the practices etc.