Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

The Sutras: Being a Buddha before Practice

edited May 2010 in Philosophy
Hi there.

I have been practicing Zen for five years.

In Zen, many masters hold, that we are all Buddhas, perfect as we are, even if we don't practice.

Now my question is:

- Did the historical Buddha also think so?

- Some other schools seem to present the path to Awakening as an ascent.

- Are there any references in the Sutras about being a Buddha before you start practicing?

Comments

• ansannaansanna Veteran
    edited February 2010
    If to be defined in the scholarship type of school, they will explains that there are many level of Buddhahood, the most fundamental level is know as theorical Buddha - this is based on profound principle in some Mahayana sutras that states all living beings are endowed with the same potential of Buddhahood - common known as the buddha nature.

Such teaching is based on the great wisdom of equality to all living beings, and provide a positive encourage for them to strike for their best to bring forth their innate potential of Buddhahood.
    Nonetheless, to manifest actual buddhahood , yuo may need to prove it by your noble action & wisdom , and able to turn the Dharma wheel and benefit many others
  • edited February 2010
    so where in the scriptures does buddha talk about that? :)
  • ansannaansanna Veteran
    edited February 2010
    Certanly in Mahayana sutra such as the Lotus Sutra and the Maha-parivirvana sutra,
    and those sutras belongs to the Tathāgatagarbha doctrine
  • edited February 2010
    is the lotus sutra the same as the white lotus sutra?