Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Are viruses reborn?

13»

Comments

• JeffreyJeffrey Veteran
    edited March 2010
    Consciousness is dependently arising. But rigpa is not. I think rigpa is the right word. I'm studying mahamudra and in the mahamudra it is called clarity openness and sensitivity. In Dzogchen I think that is called rigpa.

For example you can see that confidence can be conditional or not. You have conditional confidence because you are speaking english and all the things you expect are happening.

But even if there were an earthquake your unconditional confidence would emerge. Which would manifest as opening to the arising (conditions). The conditions would be conditional but your opening to whatever arises is unconditional. The clarity is the how when you open your experience is distinct and clear. The sensitivity is the response you have from the experience.

Clarity openness and sensitivity are always present. For Sadam Hussein and also for Buddha.
  • RichardHRichardH Veteran
    edited March 2010
    Familiar with Rigpa, have not practiced Dzogchen but know people who do. Rigpa seems to be the same as "True mind" with a similar correlate of the world as self luminous, unobstructed and spontaneously perfect. 'True Mind" is often spoken of as Pure Unchanging Awareness, but in practice this "Conciousness" or "awareness" pure or otherwise is the shaggy dog of Buddha Dharma. There is actually no such thing. true mind is a reference without a referent. I dont no if it is understood that way in Vajrayana.
    edited March 2010