Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

How would you say Buddhism is living and dynamic?

edited March 2010 in Buddhism Today
Hello all. I'm a student in senior high school and I have to do a major research task on a religion of my choice. As I've always been fascinated by Buddhism, it was my natural choice. So I come to you, the Buddhists yourselves. I was wondering if anyone at all could help me, how would you say the characteristics of Buddhism interact to create a dynamic and living religion? I use the word religion lightly, as my research has lead me to believe that it is more a way of life. Please correct me if I'm wrong.:rolleyes:

Please don't feel that I'm taking advantage of you. I will most definitely continue posting on the site as I'm trying to incoporate some of the ethics and values of Buddhism into my life.

Any help at all would be very much appreciated. Thanks. :)

Comments

• federicafederica Seeker of the clear blue sky... Its better to remain silent and be thought a fool, than to speak out and remove all doubt Moderator
    edited March 2010
    I'm not sure I understand your question.
    There is another topic in this forum currently, discussing the 'labelling' of Buddhism as a religion, which in my opinion, it is. But the word 'religion' in the west has become so synonymous with there being a Godhead, that this is what confuses people.
    In fact, the word 'Religion' stems from the Latin "Religare", to bind one's self to, and be devoted to. So I think it qualifies. The nuns and monks ordained into Buddhist schools/traditions, would seem to bear that out.