Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Love or what !

edited March 2010 in Buddhism Basics
Hello everyone.

I'm quite new to Buddhism but I've been into it for the last couple of months now, and it's helping me a lot. But there is one thing that I still can't understand.

That thing is love! What is love? I've had a girlfriend for the past 3 years we broke up 4 or 5 months now I tried a couple of time to get back to her, but she has a boyfriend and keeps attached to the bast and to my bad actions so I accepted the fact that I won't have her as my girlfriend I did overcome all the jealousy and hatred for the fact that she carried on and I got stuck.

I talked to her recently and wished her all the best and I meant it from the bottom of my heart, all I want her is to be happy.

Now, I get the feeling that I won't be able to have another girlfriend, I mean, the relationship we had was MUCH more than sex, and I'm the kind of guy that loves the cuddling and the sweet lovely talk, I'm a romantic eheh. And I can't picture myself with anyone else but her.

I've even been thinking about celibate, I'm only 18 though.

What you have to say about this?

Regards

Comments

• SimonthepilgrimSimonthepilgrim Veteran
    edited March 2010
    pedrolive wrote: »
    ........................., I'm only 18 though.

Your blessing, your curse and your answer.
  • edited March 2010
    There are different kinds of love. The kind that is able to let someone go for their own happiness is indeed more noble than the jealous love most people experience.