Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Management

At the end of last summer, my boss gave me a pat on the back for a job well done. If you looked at the numbers, I had done well. As a house painting manager, I was the second most productive crew in the company (out of 10 or so), and I had thousands in bonus pay to look forward to. But I felt defeated. I knew that I hadn't really been successful. After all, my original crew no longer existed as they had nearly all been fired, and the replacements I only worked with for a week.

I was surprisingly promoted to a management position last summer after my original boss was fired abruptly. I was assigned 3 people to my new crew and was essentially told to go forth and do great things. Two of my crew members were very fast workers, but dreadfully lazy. The other was a consistent dud round who I unsuccessfully tried to get rid of.

My mistake was that I was that I was too lenient and forgiving of incompetence early on. I was rightly seen as inexperienced and non-dictatorial by them from the start and thus my fate was sealed. Chronic insubordination and laziness was assured. It started off pleasantly enough, but by mid-summer, I would catch the crew just lazily sitting around, texting, or talking on their phones when left without a watchful eye for even a few minutes.