Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Hello all, I'm fairly new to Buddhism and even newer to this particular forum, so I thought I would make my presence known around the place and attempt to assimilate myself into your seemingly tight-knit community. Aside from introducing myself to you folks, I also have a question pertaining to karma, and karmic activity. I understand the concept of karma, and I understand from the basic Buddhist texts I have read that karma is a big part of Buddhism and it's various forms; however, I have heard theories of karma used by non-Buddhists many times, most notably my own family, who are Polish Catholic on both sides. My question is: did karma originate from the time of the original Buddha, or is it a general spiritual idea that is simply further embraced by Buddhism. If this is a stupid question, thanks for your patience.

Comments

• BrianBrian Detroit, MI Moderator
    edited September 2005
    Welcome to our site! While tight-knit, we are very welcoming and simply love it when new people join up and participate :)
  • SimonthepilgrimSimonthepilgrim Veteran
    edited September 2005
    Hello Malacosteus and welcome!

Karma/kamma is a very ancient concept, taught and believed from long before the birth and teaching of the historical Buddha. We can find references to the notion in the oldest spiritual documents, such as the Vedas.