Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

No views… no brains?

edited July 2010 in Philosophy
Hmmm so I’m not really sure what I’m trying to get at with this post… but hopefully with discussion it will become clearer.

My main concern: Is it common, in Buddhist practice, to have a shift in the way you gauge the value of people’s (and your own) views? What is this shift, and does it compromise your ability to think critically

(As background, I've been practicing for a few years, mostly in the Zen tradition)

I used to place primary importance on things being logically consistent… when I looked at things it was very black and white, true or false. The value of a view was mostly a product of the extent to which it could be proven true, objectively. Especially in the sciences and philosophy/ religion.

But I’ve had a shift in criteria. I’m less concerned with the objective truth of a view, because I’ve stopped believing that purely objective truth can be known. Even if we did strike upon the truth, it would be unknowingly. And something that is true in one instance is not necessarily true in the next, making all views provisional. So I gave up trying to find it (for the most part, anyway), because it causes too much grief and worry.