Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

practicing buddhist of 3 years in desperate need of experienced guidance

edited September 2010 in Buddhism Basics
hello, my name is vince, and I have been practicing buddhism for the past two or three years of my life. i've always had strong convictions about my philosophy, and found the buddha's teaching to be both inspirational and obviously true. recently however, a close friend of mine whom i discovered buddhism with has taken to catholicism. at the same time, another friend of mine has been talking to me about god. now, i don't necessarily believe in god, but for the first time i'm having serious doubts about the whole buddhist view on life. are things really empty ? should i really be attempting to become dispassionate ? what about self , what if there is a atman, rather an anatta ? what about smiles , beauty , love , friendship. is there not something eternal in goodness ? please help with any advice you can give, this doubt in the Dharma has shaken me thoroughly inside , and i am considering the possibility of god's existence. i know god isn't really of importance in siddhartha's teaching, but what if god is the end of suffering, and not the path ?

metta, thank you for any help you can be.

Comments

• jinzangjinzang Veteran
    edited June 2010