Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Vipassana Meditation

edited November 2010 in Meditation
I just wanted to start a new thread about vipassana meditation in general, so I'd like to begin with a question.
I have been doing this practice along with zazen for a few months now, but I am finding a problem with using the breath as an anchor. Whenever a thought appears I find myself going directly to the breath automatically. It's almost as if the thought is buried quickly by a black fog and I feel like I'm "spacing out" in the breath.
So my question is, is it possible to 'let go' of the breath as an anchor and instead stay mindful of thinking/mind states/the body exclusively, being mindful of the clinging of the mind when it is wild instead of just going back to the breath?

Thanks in advance guys :D

Comments

• GlowGlow Veteran
    edited July 2010
    Yes, you can definitely shift awareness away from the breath to other aspects of your experience, including thoughts, feelings and body sensations. Here is a chapter from Gil Fronsdal's book The Issue At Hand on mindfulness of thoughts: http://www.insightmeditationcenter.org/books-articles/the-issue-at-hand/chapter15/
  • edited July 2010
    Wow, thanks! That was a big help! How long have you been doing the practice? Are you exclusively vipassana or doing a little of this and that?
  • GlowGlow Veteran
    edited July 2010