Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Please help with meditation plan

edited July 2010 in Buddhism Basics
Hi everyone,

I'm rather new to Buddhism, and I am interested in the practical, day-to-day aspects of practice. I understand the basics about right-speech, right-action, etc. But I am also interested in meditation, as I repeatedly read from different sources that it is central to the practice of Buddhism (even for laity like me.) As a result, I've discovered there are more forms of meditation than I can possibly track.

I want to start meditating daily. I haven't lived up to this. Lately, I've only been meditating every few days by focusing my breathing for twenty minutes. I happy to say it's getting easier, but I'm still not quite satisfied. I need more practice!

I also want to avoid redundancy. I fear that doing the same type of meditation every day will bore me and discourage progress. So I need your help! I want to meditate every day, at least 2-3 different ways per week. Do you have any suggestions regarding what other types of meditation may be suitable for beginners? Also, how do you stay motivated?

Thanks in advance for any suggestions.

Comments

• jinzangjinzang Veteran
    edited July 2010
    You're supposed to get bored. If meditation stays fresh, exciting, and interesting, it's not doing the job it's supposed to do. I suggest you talk to an experienced meditation instructor.
  • FoibleFullFoibleFull Canada Veteran
    edited July 2010
    What Jinzang said. Yup.
  • MountainsMountains Veteran
    edited July 2010
    Hi Justme