Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Taking Refuge and practicing lay Buddhists - A question

edited September 2010 in Buddhism Today
I have been studying Buddhism for about 3 years now. The more I learn, the more it connects with me.

Now, in my mind, I have identified as a Buddhist for about a year and a half. I have also begun attending a sunday night practice (Theravada/Vipassana) near my home. There are several lineage practices held in the same Buddhist center, but I have found this one to be closest in teaching to what I have been studying.

My question: How does the ceremony of Taking Refuge play into my practice?

At this point, I would very much like to deepen my commitment to my practice, but I haven't been able to get what I would consider straight answers about this within my Sangha.

It comes down to this: I don't want to be referring to myself as Buddhist if the Taking Refuge ceremony is a prerequisite and I have not been able to participate. I want to follow the legitimate path.

On the other hand, if it isn't something I should focus on, I'm willing to hear that as well.

Can anyone offer insight?
* To be clear, I understand the idea behind Taking Refuge. I'm looking for input on its priority in my own practice.

Comments

• JeffreyJeffrey Veteran
    edited July 2010
    I might try asking some sangha members how refuge has helped them practice.. I think there is somewhat of a mystical aspect to it. I mean why does it matter if you went through a formal ceremony or just take refuge in your heart? And then there is a part of how refuge helps your practice to succeed.
  • aMattaMatt Veteran