Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Living peacefully in the world as a Technologist

edited August 2010 in Buddhism Today
I'm a software engineer, web developer, general geek. I've been interested in and lightly practicing Buddhism for quite a few years now. I was drawn to Buddhism in part because it spoke to many of the things that have distressed me for most of my life. I have issues with self control with food. I have a tendency to play too many video games. I don't consider these vices, but to the extreme I take them they definitely make the quality of my life and my wife's life worse.

The problem is that as a software engineer. I love what I do. I can't completely unplug. So how do I make peace between what I want to be and what I have to do? What's the middle ground? I'd love to hear experiences from other people who have gone through this kind of life. Multiple computers, iPhone, Tivo, etc. All competing for your mindspace when you really feel like the best thing for you would be to meditate, go for a bike ride, anything but those things.

Do you shed whole technologies and go cold turkey? Is it better to work on the practice of meditating first to get to the point where you can put these things away and walk by them?

Comments

• fivebellsfivebells Veteran
    edited July 2010
    Meditation is about building capacity to directly experience the emotional core driving those kinds of patterned behaviors. There is no reason why you shouldn't try to apply meditation to internet addiction immediately. (With "mindfulness" and so forth.) In fact, it may accelerate the practice. Just don't expect quick results.