Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Paranoia and Joy happening simultaneously

edited September 2010 in Philosophy
I've been practicing garage Buddhism for 20 years... that means I don't belong to any group... I just read a lot! :p

So the thing is... I'm developing incredible joy with my practice. It's self-existing, bright, shiny, loving.

But at the same time... I keep looking over my shoulder - like someone is going to take my joy and happiness away. I don't think about it... it just happens. And this sorta gets in the way of the joy just flowing. It's kinda annoying. Along with the paranoia are these annoying games I play with myself... creating projections of all kinds that COME TO LIFE and do try to take my joy away. It's like a catch-22.

Has anyone ever experienced this? What's the next step? I'm sure it will happen naturally... everything seems to develop into another situation. I just don't know how to get out of this one.

Thanks.

Comments

• mugzymugzy Veteran
    edited July 2010
    Stop trying to hang onto your joy.
  • edited July 2010
    hi here is a poem by william blake

i q29 - Eternity

He who binds to himself a joy
    Does the winged life destroy;
    But he who kisses the joy as it flies
    Lives in eternity's sun rise.

i quote this to myself alot and dont worry about paranoia i have it too its as empty as eveything and will pass
  • edited July 2010
    The next step is to step out of the garage and into a relationship with an authentic Buddhist master.
  • edited July 2010
    Thanks! That's very helpful. Ahhh....! :)