Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

blah

ThailandTomThailandTom Veteran
edited August 2010 in Buddhism Basics
Hello all :)

I need some help with meditation mainly, but my practice in general. I have been studying buddhism for 18 months and practicing it on and off during this time.
I know the basics of where suffering comes from, how it arises and passes. I know the basics of kamma, of attachment and DO. I am fully aware of the 4 noble truths, the 8 fold path and the nibanas and try to meditate every day. The trouble is, I know enough to want to continue down this path,I know enough to realise what I need to do to plant those seeds and reap the fruit, but I can't seem to get anywhere.
Recently I touched the stillness of my mind and was overly content and at peace with myself, for about 2 days lol. I have little money until my bank card gets sorted out so I am living on very little, I am always tired and fatigued and I get myself down because I find it hard to meditate at all right now.

Can anyone provide some advise on meditation and different techniques or types of meditation? It seems to be hard to get a straight answer on this from even monks for some reason, which is very odd.

It is harsh because it is as if somebody has just put the most splendid and tasty meal in front of me, let me eat a few bites and then taken it away once again.
I feel the attachment to every day things even more so these days, I feel how being on the net aimlessly makes me subdued and down, how my lack of motivation gets me down, so 'blah' does seem fitting right now, tom.

Comments

• edited August 2010