Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Destiny, Response, and Suggestions :)

JakbobJakbob Explorer
edited August 2010 in Buddhism Basics
Hello everyone, I am still very new to Buddhism and have some questions for you all. :)

1. Buddhism mentions karma and the universe. Should we view the universe not as a disciplinary omniscient being but more as a "random" set of occurrences that appear in karma? So even a good person faces anguish and a bad person must suffer consequences? Does the universe use no judgement?

2. What does Buddhism say about destiny? Do we have a purpose or are we here by natural occurrences? And we give ourselves the goal or purpose( nirvana)?

3. In the eightfold path, one should not intentionally harm another sentient being. (Which I totally agree with, even before I started reading into Buddhism, I was a pacifist :D) But... what does Buddhism say if another sentient being is to harm us?

4 and lastly, as I get more into Buddhism I know that there are different sects and "flavors" of Buddhism. Theravada, Mahayana, and Tibetan. All practice under the same basic principles, but all have different ways of reaching nirvana or methods. How do I know which one is right for me? I hope that someday I will know this, soon maybe, so I can begin to study ever so more deeply, and to one day connect with a true sangha(something I lack) at a temple. ^.^