Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Is this common?

First hello to all of you of this forum, this is my first time on this forum so let me introduce myself. My name is Pedro Nekonatulo, I'm 25 years old and live in Europe.

I have been familiar with Buddhist teaching for about 1,5 year now and because I see value for myself in it, I try to apply it to my life.

If there was an opportunity for it, I would take up the life of a monk in a monastry (I would want to do that for a year) to spend a time learning there. Since there is little opportunity for that, I have made the decision of trying to "live as a monk". I live in a city, have a full-time job and rent a room to live in. But in the time I am not working I am trying to live a "monks life" (so to call it) in the best way that I can do.

I would like to give money, luxury and comfort only a small and little place in my life. No more than is necessary, because I want to live my life simple, just like you would in a monastery.

I will tell you a bit about my life, and my feelings toward it. Maybe there are some of you who can relate, or some that can give me advise, or some that just want to make a comment about it. I am looking forward to any comments at all, and all comments that you make will be highly appreciated.