Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

How is an Arahant different from a Bodhisattva?

edited October 2010 in Philosophy
image133.jpg

This article by Bhikku Bodhi is a fair minded and well researched overview of the differences between the Mahayana ideal of the Bodhisattva and the Theravada ideal of the Arahant.

Though I think the article overall is excellent and I learned a great deal from it, as a Vajrayana student I had some minor points of disagreement.

First, a minor issue of the terminology that he uses, to call the extreme Mahayana position elitist and the extreme Theravada position purist, is a bit prejudicial. I understand that he doesn't agree with either position but it seems like "elitist" has more of a negative connotation. Of course some Mahayanists are elitist, it always makes me cringe a little when people start talking about "the lesser vehicle; Hinayana."

In both cases we are only talking about an elite composed of those who have reached the highest ideal of spiritual development. As the author himself says, the term arahant "was used to denote a person who had attained the ultimate goal, for this is what made one worthy of veneration and offerings."