Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Is it possible to be Buddhist and still enjoy everyday things in life?

Hi i am new here and quite confused.
Ever since I have been contemplating Buddhism I have seemed to lose interest in the arts that I strived so hard to be good at in the past. They seem to have lost meaning and I have developed a sort of apathy and along with it a sense of confusion too.
I was a musician and very greatly appreciated the beauty of music, art, everything...
Now I don't know what to think but I feel that if I continue with everyday life the way I used to and engage in the arts and life that I will lose sight of the ultimate goal.
But I don't want to be apathetic either...
Any advice and help is appreciated. I hope I have come to the right place.

Comments

• edited October 2010
    Are you sure there is a cause-and-effect relationship between getting interested in Buddhism and losing interest in these other things, or did they maybe just happen at the same time?

There certainly is no prohibition on enjoying the arts in Buddhism.

Maybe your interests are just sort of rearranging themselves. There are a lot of beautiful things in Buddhism that we all enjoy.
  • GuyCGuyC Veteran
    edited October 2010
    Hi Binn,