Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Truth & stuff

edited October 2010 in Philosophy
Hi, its my first time posting.

I was just reading through a couple of the threads and i noticed some similarities between them. Mainly, this idea of "attaining Nirvana", or the "quest for enlightenment."

I think there's a big part of the picture that some people are missing.

The truth is, "Nirvana" and "Enlightenment" are just words. They are little squiggles on this computer monitor. Think about that for a second. absorb it. accept it. Repeat the word "Nirvana" out loud until it looses its meaning, until it becomes just another sound, fading into the same categories of a car horn or cat's meow: just another SOUND.

Being merely a sound now, you can begin to describe it in any way you truly desire. Instead of calling a tree a "tree", call it a "Nirvana". It's autumn, the Nirvanas are changing color and look beautiful. Get it?

Realize that reality, enlightenment, limits, the journey, the path, suffering, buddha, nature, and every single word ever uttered or written is simple that: a word, a sound, a symbol. Do not mistake the symbol for the actual thing.

The Diamond Sutra explicitly says multiple times that words are to be used like a raft to get across the stream. Once you have gotten to the other side of the stream, get rid of the raft: it is useless.

Do not mistake the hand for the moon.