Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

HHDL in Atlanta

edited October 2010 in Buddhism Today
Wasn't sure where to post, so I posted in current events.

So, I'm very new to Buddhism but I recently found out that His Holiness would be right in my back yard, well... two hours away but that's close enough to a back yard when you live in the country. :D I've never attended a teaching before, so I guess you could say attending a teaching to 4000 people from the Dalai Lama himself is like jumping in the deep end... but I tend to do that sometimes.

His teaching was on the Nature and Practice of Compassion, and I think I learned much while it also served to remind me of things I already knew. The day was altogether peaceful and I met many new people. I also heard Tibeten monks chanting for the first time, and that in itself was an interesting experience.

Did anyone else attend this or any of the other events? The monastery is also hosting a Tibetan Festival next month, which I may go to. I give you linkage: http://www.drepung.org/ I would have posted about all this sooner but I haven't had internet and I found out extremely last minute!

Comments

• edited October 2010
    I was at the same teaching. It definitely provided me with some things to think about. I particularly liked the question-and-answer session at the end. I also thought it was interesting to see the diversity of the people who attended. I don't think I saw anyone that I would've thought, "Oh, he's Buddhist...she's Buddhist." Well, except for the monks and nuns in their robes. Or the people wearing malas.