Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Advice needed for pain when meditating

edited November 2010 in Meditation
Hi everyone! I've been lurking here for a little while but registered so that I could ask this question.

A tiny bit of background first: I've been practicing mindfulness for about three years, but I just started meditating. I do 10 minutes every day, usually sitting in a chair as I'm recovering from a back injury.

I want to incorporate a "body scan" type meditation in addition to my daily sitting meditation but am hitting a roadblock.

Whenever I do my guided body scan meditation -- 45 minutes -- I get nearly done with the meditation when I get a very intense pain in my left shoulder. I can work through my normal back pain, but am really having trouble with the shoulder pain. It flares up very quickly and intensely and gives me a very strong sensation of restlessness deep in my core, so strong that it makes me nauseated.

My question is thus:

Should I continue trying to do the 45 minute tape, pushing through and forcing myself to lie there in pain? I do try to accept the pain and notice it without judging, etc, but fundamentally it is strong enough that I really do wind up forcing myself to lie there.

Or should I back off and perhaps try 10 minutes of lying-down self guided meditation, with the eventual goal of being able to do the 45 minute tape?

I'm very torn because on the one hand, I want to learn about this pain and figure out what it's trying to teach me, but on the other hand, I'm finding myself procrastinating doing the tape at all because I don't want to hurt.

Comments

• edited November 2010