Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Addiction

edited December 2010 in Buddhism Today
I am new to Buddhism and I am a smoke cigarettes. I have been trying to defeat this battle for quite some time and I could really use some good advice. I realize this is something that I must do, and decide to do for myself, as well as others, but I'm still struggling.I read a book about sitting with discomfort but I haven't quite won this battle. Does anyone have any words of wisdom for me? I would really appreciate it.

Comments

• JasonJason God Emperor Arrakis Moderator
    edited December 2010
    amylynn518 wrote: »
    I am new to Buddhism and I am a smoke cigarettes. I have been trying to defeat this battle for quite some time and I could really use some good advice. I realize this is something that I must do, and decide to do for myself, as well as others, but I'm still struggling.I read a book about sitting with discomfort but I haven't quite won this battle. Does anyone have any words of wisdom for me? I would really appreciate it.

Not really words of wisdom, but you can find some of my thoughts on addiction here.
  • CloudCloud Veteran
    edited December 2010
    Talk to your doctor about your options. Best bet is to try multiple different things; a doc at least could prescribe patches or nicotine gum. These would help with the physical side of the addiction -- however there is a mental aspect as well.
  • TheswingisyellowTheswingisyellow Trying to be open to existence Samsara Veteran
    edited December 2010