Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Mindful seeing and listening

edited December 2010 in Meditation
I am new to mindfulness meditation and I would like to know if anyone has/ has had the same "problems" with it as I do.

I feel quite comfortable with mindfulness meditation when I try to focus on what my hands are holding, how my feet are touching the ground or if I try to pay attention to my breath. Of course, my mind will eventually wander off after some time, but I usually realize this rather quickly by now. But every time I try to expand my focus on my sense of seeing or listening, my mind wanders off very quickly.

Is this also just a matter of practice? Can anyone give me any tips as to how I might be able to keep my awareness to what I hear and see longer?

Comments

• flow with the wandering, young butterfly
  • ravkesravkes Veteran
    edited December 2010
    So when you breathe. You can say to yourself rising, falling. (In reference to the stomach).
    When your mind wanders off, you can say thinking, thinking, thinking.
    When you're feeling happy feelings, you can say happy, happy, happy.
    .. and so on and so forth with all other objects of your meditation..

Accompanying phenomena with clear thoughts will general ground oneself in reality.
    In addition, you claim that you have to keep your awareness. Well when are you not aware? Just pay attention to what's happening, right now -- and accompany it with a clear thought. This meditation practice has helped me to realize that nothing needs to be achieved. Just a simple recognition of what's actually happening is sufficient. Just the simple truth.