Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

How do I know if I'm making progress?

edited January 2011 in Buddhism Basics
I've been meditating for 4 or 5 months. Because of my location, age and inability to drive,I don't have a sanga or a teacher. I know I'm not going anywhere. (Great book. Being Nobody Going Nowhere) But should my experience of meditation be deepening? What would that feel like/ look like?

I find that I believe all the basic Buddhist doctrines. I don't know when that happened. So I guess that's progress.

Comments

• the more deeply you internalize the buddhist doctrines the more progress you will make. it's like getting used to the movement on a boat, at first you have to really think about it but as you slowly get used to what your standing on and the movement it becomes second nature. suffering ends when the futility of craving, impermanence, anatta etc. becomes second nature.

"Lord, is it true what has been said, that good spiritual friends are fully half of the holy life?"
    The Master replied, "No, Ananda, good spiritual friends are the whole of the holy life. Find refuge in the sangha community."
  • edited January 2011
    Practicing it on a daily basis is progress. Why? Because time is progress. :D Sure, someday you might have a revelation and say, "Oh wow! This is really working!" It's very nice but that's not your reward, that's not really why you do it. Would be nice to have a teacher and sangha; eventually that should happen.

IMO? If you are DEcreasing negative thinking and increasing happiness (even a little bit) you are making good progress.