Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

possible epiphany during meditation? - best meditation guidebook?

edited January 2011 in Meditation
I had this possible epiphany during a meditation this morning (I sound a hippy there?!?) Now that I am studying and implementing buddhism in my life im noticing how my life is so much better. Im deattaching from so many things its interesting how i've managed to control my anger and frustration at being tossed out of a job that i worked hard in. Am i the only one who thinks yoga and meditation should be introduced into schools to enrich kids lives? (not with the intention to convert them though!)

What is the best book on meditation?

Comments

• I think introducing meditation into schools is a great idea. And congrats on using your practice to overcome the setback of losing a good job--that's impressive.

• What is the best book on meditation?
    A good book is "Mindfulness in Plain English" by Ven Henepola Gunaratana. It's available for free download in many places including here: http://www.urbandharma.org/pdf/mindfulness_in_plain_english.pdf

• shanyinshanyin Novice Yogin Sault Ontario Veteran
    Turning Your Mind Into An Ally - Sakyong Mipham, was excellent.
  • I really like How to Meditate by Kathleen McDonald.
  • Yes, meditation should be part of education.
    But don't study books on the subject.
    Because there is no roadmap.

There is no road map for meditation, and descriptions of various stages of meditation are useless, in my opinion.

It is going to be different for us anyway.