Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Do You Experience the Profound With Meditation?

edited January 2011 in Meditation
Hi. I'm just a beginner. I'm not very good at meditation yet. I can barely get my breathing to be the sole awareness when I meditate. I'll get better, don't be concerned about that.

I would like to ask: what do the most advanced meditators experience in an ultimate sense?

Do certain forms of meditation involve getting glimpses (or glaring views) of Infiniteness? Profundity? The Ineffable? Unity?

Is that the ultimate goal of meditation?

I know there is a lot of different intents to meditation.

Short of achieving actual ___Enlightenment___, Do the "higher" forms of meditation, or the most difficult forms, or any forms :D yield a profound, inspiring yet ineffable sense of ..., I dunno..., how "huge" "it" is?

Thanks for any clues. :) I know some things can't be explained and must be experienced directly.

Comments

• MindGateMindGate United States Veteran
    I am a beginner as well, but I can answer one question.

Shunryu Suzuki-roshi said that there is no goal in meditation. There shouldn't be a goal. Setting a goal, TRYING to do something isn't the purpose of meditation or Buddhism. You meditate just to meditate. You just do it.
  • edited January 2011
    Thank you MG. No problema. FWIW, I certainly do not have such a goal. :wow:

I was wondering what, so far as can be described, the most well-practiced meditators "see."